WhatsApp To Roll Out New Feature That Silences Friends In Group Chats
WhatsApp is introducing a new feature called the 'Restrict Group' tool, meaning that only admins of a group chat will be allowed to send texts and everyone else in the chat will only have the ability to read them.
This could be interesting...
Group members will have the option to use a 'Message Admin' button to gain approval from the administrator before their content can be seen. Admins can only apply this restricted setting every 72 hours, though.
The tool will be added to iOS and Android versions of the app in the latest update.
According to WABetaInfo, the admin will also be able to restrict who can change a group's information, including its name, using a new Admin Settings options.
"All participants can normally edit the group description, icon and subject, but finally the administrator can restrict this feature today, preventing no-administrators to modify the group description," the website said.
"This action can be managed in the Admin Settings, a new option located in Group Info that's visible to the administrator only."
The group info function will only be available in the beta version of the app for Android.
The 'Restricted Groups' feature first emerged in December 2017, spotted by WABetaInfo in beta versions of WhatsApp for iOS and Android.
The site noted that a notification will appear in the chat, stating: "[Admin name] allowed only admins to send messages to this group."
Participants will still be able to read the admin's messages.
A blog by WABetaInfo explained: "When administrators disable the chat features, only they can interact each other in the group: this may happen when an administrator wants to get the attention of all participants, writing something important or to organise an event."
Featured Image Credit: E!/PA Images